January 7, 2015
Select this link to view the agenda on the Electronic School Board Web page.
Select this link to view the School Board meeting on PWCS-TV.

Annual Organizational Meeting
The School Board took the following actions at its annual organizational meeting:

  • Mrs. Alyson A. Satterwhite, Gainesville District,  was elected Vice Chairman of the Prince William County School Board for 2015;
  • Ms. Deborah Urban was appointed clerk of the Prince William County School Board for 2015;
  • The School Board will require that the clerk and deputy clerk furnish a corporate surety bond of $10,000 conditioned upon the faithful performance and discharge of their duties, premium for such bonds to be paid by the School Board;
  • The location of regular School Board meetings was established as the Edward L. Kelly Leadership Center, 14715 Bristow Road, Manassas, Virginia, on the first and third Wednesdays of the months of January through June and September through December. Closed Session meetings shall convene at 6 p.m. and public meetings shall convene at 7 p.m.;
  • Ms. Rae E. Darlington, Deputy Superintendent, was appointed designee of the Division Superintendent to attend meetings of the School Board in the absence or inability of the Superintendent to attend; and
  • The Board approved membership in professional organizations and the appointment of representatives.

 Regular Public School Board Meeting 
The School Board Approved:

  • January 25–31 as School Principals Week;
  • February as African-American History Month and Career and Technical Education Month;
  • Memorandum of Agreement Addenda between PWCS and Northern Virginia Community College which will ensure the Pathway counselors have all the tools needed to be successful in guiding PWCS students;
  • Naming the library at Dumfries Elementary School in honor of Mrs. Betty D. Covington;
  • March as National Athletic Training Month;
  • February 2–6 as National School Counseling Week;
  • March 9–15 as National Foreign Language Week;
  • The resolution authorizing the Superintendent of Schools to submit all reports and other necessary filings for the receipts of Impact Aid and to provide all assurances otherwise required by the Improving America’s Schools Act of 1994;
  • Payrolls for November 2014;
  • School Board meeting minutes for December 17, 2014.

Citizens’ Comment Time:
Citizens addressed the School Board on the following topics:

  • Numerous citizens spoke about the boundary changes for the new elementary school on Devlin Road and the surrounding communities.
  • Appreciation to the School Board Chairman for his dedication and public service.
  • Budget and public school employee salaries.


  • Mr. Mickey Mulgrew, associate superintendent for High Schools, Mr. Neil Beech, principal of Osbourn Park High School, and Dr. Robert Scott, a teacher at Osbourn Park High School, gave a presentation on the proposed specialty program for the 13th high school.
  • Dr. Matthew Cartlidge, supervisor of Planning, reported the recommendations prepared by the “Devlin Road” elementary school Boundary Planning Committee for the new school opening in September 2015.
  • Mr. John Gilberto of the public accounting firm Cherry, Bekaert & Hollard, LLP, presented the results of a financial audit of the School Division’s FY 2014 Comprehensive Annual Financial Report. Cherry, Bekaert & Hollard, LLP gave an unqualified clean audit report.

Superintendent’s Time:
Dr. Steven L. Walts, Superintendent of Schools, made the following announcements:

  • Congratulations to Mrs. Alyson A. Satterwhite on her appointment as Vice Chairman of the School Board. Dr. Walts also thanked Mr. Trenum for his service the past year as Vice Chairman.
  • All schools are invited to recognize and celebrate the work of their School Board representative and Chairman At-Large, especially during the coming month of February, since it marks the annual observance of School Board Appreciation Month.
  • Congratulations to the School Board member from the Potomac District, Mrs. Covington, on having the library at Dumfries Elementary School named in her honor, as approved by her colleagues on the School Board tonight.
  • Angela Gyane, a sophomore at Potomac High School, is the Northern Virginia Regional winner in a student writing contest about leadership and outstanding African Americans. The contest is sponsored by Dominion and the Library of Virginia to celebrate strong men and women in Virginia history.
  • The School Division has received a grant of $28,000 from the Virginia Department of Education to provide mentors to 28 new teachers who joined us through the Career Switcher Program. These teachers bring skills gained in other fields.
  • Twenty-one teachers have been nominated for Prince William County Teacher of the Year and the Washington Post Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Award.
  • Mrs. Joyce Stockton, principal of Pennington Traditional School, has been named the Prince William County Principal of the Year.
  • Twenty-one of our teachers have earned National Board Certification or re-certification. This is a lengthy and rigorous process and a significant achievement.  Please see our Web page announcements for names and more information.
  • Dr. Walts welcomed everyone back from the holiday break, and extended his best wishes for the New Year.
  • Dr. Walts personally apologized for the decision to open schools on time on Tuesday, January 6.  Click to view video.